Ukraine Us Free Trade Agreement

The free trade agreement between Ukraine and the EFTA states (Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein) was signed in Reykjavik, Iceland, on 24 June 2010; ratified by Ukraine`s Law 4091-VI of 7 December 2011 and came into force on 1 June 2012. This agreement covers trade in goods (industrial, agricultural, fish and sea production), services and dispute resolution. Given the difference between the levels of economic and social development between Ukraine and EFTA member states, the agreement is the principle of the parties` asymmetric commitments, which allow Ukraine to adapt its trade with EFTA countries to free trade conditions. The free trade agreement between the Government of Ukraine and the Government of Montenegro was signed in Kiev on 18 November 2011 and ratified by Ukrainian Law No. 5445-VI of 16 October 2012; Effective January 1, 2013. This agreement deals with trade in goods, services and dispute resolution. In accordance with the provisions of the agreement after it enters into force, Montenegro provides for the abolition of import duties. In order to avoid possible negative consequences for Ukraine`s economy, the Ukrainian side has excluded, as part of the agreement, a number of sensitive groups of agricultural products from the free trade area. Ukraine`s right to apply export duties, in accordance with existing WTO obligations, is also maintained. “We took note of the productive work of the working groups set up to discuss technical, health and plant health barriers to trade barriers and to minimize these barriers. We also noted the intensive work of the IpY Rights Working Group (IPR). Their work contributed to the adoption of a new law on collective administration in Ukraine, and we encouraged them to keep in mind that this law was still pending and that the development of a transparent, fair and predictable system of collective royalty management was assured.

The experts noted their plans to engage in future draft legislation on daspr iPR in Ukraine and to strengthen enforcement of existing pre-government intellectual property legislation. The AA/DCFTA aims to boost trade in goods and services between the EU and Ukraine by gradually reducing tariffs and adapting Ukrainian rules to the EU in certain industrial and agricultural sectors. Ukraine has a free trade agreement with the European Free Trade Association (EFTA), the CIS and Montenegro, Macedonia, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan. The free trade agreement between the Republic of Macedonia and Ukraine was signed in Skopje on 18 January 2001 and ratified by Ukraine`s Law 2599-III of 5 July 2001. This agreement concerns the removal of trade restrictions for industrial and agricultural products, the creation of fair conditions of competition in trade, the creation of conditions for further investment promotion, the development of joint investment projects, and the protection of intellectual property and cooperation between parties in third country markets. The United States and Ukraine signed the Trade and Investment Cooperation Agreement (ICAA) between the United States and Ukraine in 2008. TICA has established TICA as the main intergovernmental mechanism for discussing trade and investment relations between the two countries. CIS Free Trade Agreement (member countries: Ukraine, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan) signed on 18 October 2011 and ratified by Ukraine on 13 July 2012.

— bella.mark